2011 Award Recipient Reflects on ASHA’s 85th Annual Conference

Posted on November 9, 2011

0


Heidi Steiner, recipient of ASHA’s 2011 Outstanding School Nurse Achievement Award sent a thank you to executive director Stephen Conley. With her permission, we’re sharing an excerpt of her note with you.

…The President’s Reception was a wonderful event, Dr. Basch’s research persuasive, and I made so many fantastic connections throughout the entire conference. Thank you. I have only been to one other ASHA conference (New Orleans,LA several years back) where I also learned a great deal and raised my awareness about so many important health issues. Now I turn the corner to raise the awareness of my administration and hopefully implement some of these ideas here in my school district.

I will end my long career as a professional school nurse in May 2012. I look forward to my new position as Executive Director of The Ohio Association of School Nurses. Like many states, Ohio is facing economic challenges that will likely affect the number of school nurses in public schools. As I listened to Dr. Basch, and other speakers, I thought about the important role school nurses play in addressing those health disparities he identified. Supporting professional licensed school nurses at this time seems more important than ever as families and children struggle to have their basic health needs met.

I let my membership in ASHA lapse for one year. (I thought I was retiring.) I now know that it is more critical than ever to be informed. And I have lots more work to do.

THANK YOU.

Heidi Steiner RN, M.Ed., NCSN
School Nurse
Wooster City Schools

Thank YOU Heidi, for all your work, and for your kind words.

Posted in: 2012 Conference